-Travel Tips.

Packing for vacation can seem like a daunting task, especially depending on the length of the trip as well as the location and time of year. I don’t do winter (or cold destination) vacations. No snow, no ice, none of that stuff that requires heavy clothing and coats and stuff. -That’s just me. But hey, I know many who do. And well, if I must confess, I did make one winter trip this year…a 4 day trip to Washington DC and NEVER have I packed so much in my life…and I’ve been on month-long vacations!

So tip number one: You ALWAYS hear people say “Pack Lightly.” What exactly does this mean? Over the years, I’ve discovered, I wear very little of what I actually pack. So now, depending on the length of the trip, I allow two pairs of jeans/shorts for a week long stay plus an nicer outfit, let’s say a dress….and enough tops to get me through the week, plus one or two extra for dressing up. Beach vacations = lots of shorts and swimsuits. 

 

Shoes, ladies, get us in trouble. All. The. Time. If you are flying, please remember this: Shoes weigh A LOT. And they fill up your suitcase quickly. Remember the 50 lb rule – unless you want to pay the cost of another ticket, keep that in mind. And it’s one suitcase per person! Yeah, it sucks, I know. But hey! Get creative. Plan out those outfits.  A couple pairs of shoes ought to do, and be sure one is a comfy pair. Sandals/flip flops for the summer destination. Boots for the winter destination. Heels for evening…or dressy flats if you don’t wear heels. (Listen, I am not the fashion expert here! I post blogs about whether or not I should wear an outfit!)

Make a check-list. (Trust me! This is an awesome thing to do, especially when you are heading overseas and items may not be readily available.) All the essentials should be on it. Walk through the house, what items do you you/need each day? Do the mental check list as well. And go over it, more than once. Trust me on this one. I am not “maker of lists” typically but for vacations…most definitely.

Driving? Make sure you car is road worthy. Oil change. Check the air in the tires. Tune up, perhaps. Check the fluid levels.

Flying….passports, for overseas flights. Some type of identification for national flights. Bring a blanket, it gets cold up in the air! One carry-on should do it. Don’t overpack!

Cruise? Yeah. You’ll need a passport. Pack light. And don’t forget evening wear, comfortable shoes and a swimsuit.

Buy doubles of your toiletries and keep them packed.

Preparing for travel is a daunting task within itself. It can be a stressful task as well. Hopefully, these few tips help.

You’re on your own from here.

Published by viaggidigioia

Writer. Photographer. Creative. Dreamer. Follow my life adventures & deep (or not so deep) thoughts here.

Leave a comment